Home Club

Woodlawn Sportslink FC

Woodlawn F.C was formed in 1998. We started off with one team in the under 9 section of the North Dublin Schoolboys League. We had a very successful season and finished 4th in the league. The following season we had two teams, one under 10 team and an under 8 team. We had a great season that year culminating with our under 10 team winning the McQuaid Motors Shield in Dalymount Park in June 2000. That team consisted of players who are household names in Woodlawn now, such as, Dara Boylan, David McGorman, Mark o Reilly, Alan Gaynor, Stuart Smith and Tony Murphy. Most of these young lads have gone on to play with distinction for other clubs such as Home Farm and St Kevins Boys. (Mark O Reilly won a Kennedy Cup winners medal with Home Farm and also represented Ireland at Schools level)

The following season was quite successful as well with our under 11 team finishing runners up in their league and beaten in the semi final of the Future Print Cup. At the end of that season we needed to have at least 14 players to go to 11 a side for the following year but as we only had 10 players and were struggling to get seven players out every week with our under 9 team it was decided to start again so to speak and disband both teams.

We then decided to start again with an under 7 team for which we had sixteen players. The idea was that we would not end up in the situation when we got to eleven a side football that we would not be able to field a team and the players would have to go elsewhere to get a game of football. The sixteen players were Ross Harrisson, Robert Comiskey, Sean Moran, Paul Foy, Eden Burke, Dylan Arthurs, Mark Kavanagh, Hayley Keen, Patrick Patten, Luke Farrell, Daniel Boylan, Dylan Walsh, Niall Moore, Anthony Delaney, Cian Simpson and Bobby O Reilly.And what a roller coaster season we had in 2001/2002 starting off with getting beaten 9-0 in our first match to beating that same team later in the season 9-3. Everything just snowballed from there to a situation where we now have 15 Schoolboy teams and I Senior team.

In 2005, in search of our own identity we decided to change our Club colours to Purple. This was initially met with a lukewarm response but has proved to be an inspired decision. In 2009 we moved from playing on the Oscar Traynor Road pitches to the fabulous facilities in Sportslink on the old Airport Road. As part of our agreement with Sportslink we changed our name to Woodlawn Sportslink. This has proved to be a great success and we hope to be there for a long time to come. Over the years as well as success on the field of play we have had a number of players represent the Club at Academy level with the N.D.S.L. In 2010,Ross Harrisson was the first player to play in the Kennedy Cup while playing for Woodlawn Sportslink. And in 2011 we had 9 players from Noel Kearney’s Under 13 squad receive the same honour. Andrew Gorman, Gavin Kearney, Glenn Carragher, Lee Doyle, Shane Darcy, Sean Doyle, James Casey, Cian Fogarty and Aaron Elliott. At this point I would like to thank the following people without whom it would not have been possible to continue at various times during the early years. Diarmuid Murphy, Mick Broderick, John Mahon, Colum Moore, Brian o Reilly, Jude Smith and J.P. Packaging, our very first sponsors. I would also like to mention our current committee without whom we would have no Club. Frank Harrisson, Michael Murray, Noel Kearney, Dave Neary, Dave Connick, Donal Gannon, Brian Maye, Ken Redmond and our Club Coaches Richie Power and Errol Buckley. Each team can only function if we have Managers, Assistants and helpers so I would also like to thank, Mark Nolan, Alan Doyle, Declan Walsh, Ken Walsh, Mick Caffrey, Darren McFarlane, Dave Lynch, Darren Greer, Alan Redmond, Dave Stokes, Jimmy Wall, Denis Cassidy, Paul Kenny, Dave Davis, Niall Woods, Declan O Brien, Keith Tilly, Ray O Connor, Paul Golding, Mark Duignan, Brendan Hynes, Noel Connick and Vinnie Moore’. Let’s hope this is only the beginning and we will continue to strive to provide football for the children of Woodlawn and the surrounding area’s for many years to come.

Kevin Boylan, Chairman Woodlawn Sportslink Football Club